Recently Added

Notes & Bookmarks

  1. Quasars; power and metrics beyond all comprehension. Staggeringly beautiful information... and very well written.
  2. "I'm sorry. I can't come in today. Religious holiday. The feast of...Maximum Occupancy."pic.twitter.com/mkgxPWfNj2
  3. Verifying myself: I am sgnls on Keybase.io. UJa01G4v3YRJYB1LFjDRSf1Nh0bh1sOykCbq / https://keybase.io/sgnls/sigs/UJa01G4v3YRJYB1LFjDRSf1Nh0bh1sOykCbq
  4. Be sure to take care of your own infrastructure(s); purge dumps, tunnel and lock-down egress transit, encrypt and permission CORRECTLY!
  5. It really doesn't matter what else gets released; Sikth's 'The Future in Whose Eyes?' is THE album of 2017. #albumoftheyear @SikthOfficialpic.twitter.com/P5houdf1yx

Anaal Nathrakh (Camden Black Heart, Mon Apr 20th 2015)

Updated : 16:01:27pm, 21st Jul 2015

As with most of the great bands, some don't put on a live show nearly as often as they should. Through various constraints, namely I'd imagine that the core of Anaal Nathrakh actually live thousands of miles apart, this is the case here too.

Despite this, Anaal Nathrakh's first showing in London since their Underworld show at Candlefest in 2013 (and previously at the same haunt in 2011 to which I did manage to go) has got people excited and as I arrive to the Black Heart nice and early in time for an interview with frontman Dave 'V.I.T.R.I.O.L.' Hunt (which will be here shortly!), knowing nods between those metalheads wandering around the vicinity suggest that again those "who know" are here as excited as I am.

[...]

Rock Sins - End of Year Awards (2014)

Updated : 13:47:02pm, 27th May 2015

Needless to say, I have most definitely slacked and avoided a LOT that I shouldn't have this year. Not surprisingly to those that know me, my attendance at gigs has almost evaporated in recent years, especially when you consider at one point in my life I was frequenting 4-5 gigs a week...

What is surprising though, most of all to myself, is that I have been noticeably lazy on my attention to giving new albums from my favourite artists the time of day, let alone the uninterrupted immersion I usually provide them. I didn't listen to Opeth's 'Pale Communion' until 3 months after it came out. I didn't listen to '.5 : The Gray Chapter' until 2015 (we won't talk about my heinous avoidance of 'At War with Reality').

[...]

Beyond the Redshift (May 10th 2014)

Updated : 06:43:12am, 16th Nov 2014

JESU

At a festival with a roster dripping in ambiance, post-rock and chords that make stoners grin even further it's really little surprise that there is a warm and eager anticipation for JESU, the band that basically rose from the ashes of GODFLESH, who themselves are without doubt one of the finest and most applicable inspirations for most of the people and artists performing today.

[...]

Tempers Fray - '7:15 (EP)'

Updated : 15:02:10pm, 9th Feb 2017

Tempers Fray - '7:15 (EP)'

Riffs; both chuggy and meaty. Sprinkles of low-end rhythm with tight, spicy venom.

[...]

Breed77 – ‘Cultura’ 10th Anniversary Show (The Borderline)

Updated : 14:08:02pm, 19th Mar 2016

Though bands come and go and, these days, their success ultimately varies on their luck rather than the quality of their outputs or touring activities, some remain hardcore stalwarts regardless of the path they tread...

I'd suggest it were impossible you'd be able to find anybody who's ever been to a gig in London, or for that matter anywhere in the UK, who hasn't at least HEARD of Gibraltar-born UK-based Breed77, one of the most unique, talented and relentlessly dedicated groups of the last 15 years. It's a damn near certainty that pretty much every gig-goer of the last decade worth their salt would have seen the band perform at least once...

[...]

Behemoth - 'The Satanist'

Updated : 14:41:14pm, 31st May 2015

Behemoth - 'The Satanist'

Well, surely it goes without saying this was always going to be a raw, absolute behemoth. Turns out it's in parts slower, broodier and yet with equal apocalyptic darkness as past offerings. Proceedings begin with a fire that descends almost literally into Hell itself. Absolutely captivating and intriguing, I wait for the rest of the album with a certainty that it'll continue to be incredible.

[...]

American Head Charge (Live at the Garage)

Updated : 14:38:21pm, 31st May 2015

American Head Charge

Quite simply, it's been far too long since American Head Charge were last on these shores.

[...]

Covenant - 'Leaving Babylon'

Updated : 14:33:07pm, 31st May 2015

Covenant - 'Leaving Babylon'

Every once in a while, one takes a punt on something different. I'd say I was exceptionally broad minded when it came to the music I listen to, but even then, we all have our preferences and individual tastes...

[...]

Front Line Assembly - 'Echogenetic'

Updated : 14:32:19pm, 31st May 2015

Front Line Assembly - 'Echogenetic'

(This review of 'Echogenetic' precedes an interview I recently did with Bill Leeb himself, in which we discuss the background and construction of the album. Check out Rock Sins in the next few days for the interview itself!)

[...]

Palms - 'Palms'

Updated : 14:23:29pm, 3rd Jun 2015

Palms - 'Palms'

In short, this sounds exactly what you would expect ISIS and Chino to sound like; a well produced, emotive and peaceful balance of four fantastic musicians.

[...]

Skinny Puppy - 'Weapon'

Updated : 13:29:40pm, 19th Mar 2016

Skinny Puppy - 'Weapon'

With great pleasure, I can announce another review for Rocksins, this time, the splendid 'Weapon'.

[...]

Ihsahn - 'Eremita'

Updated : 16:21:03pm, 17th Jan 2017

Ihsahn - 'Eremita' Being a massive music lover, as well as a lifelong metalhead and purveyor of greats such as Emperor, it stands to reason I am familiar of the mighty Ihsahn.

A Norwegian music teacher by day, he is the composer of many a fine and tasty album and some of the best and most epic black / symphonic black metal music ever produced. His solo material, ebbs between all the formulas you'd expect from the Mikael Akerfeldt of darkness.

[...]

My Dying Bride - 'The Manuscript (EP)'

Updated : 14:56:29pm, 31st May 2015

My Dying Bride - 'The Manuscript (EP)'

I've recently done another review over at Rocksins. Check it out... NOW!

[...]

SGNLS.net © 2006-2017

Comments, submissions and errors to desk[at]sgnls.net.

Material and content adheres to the Creative Commons (NC-SA 4.0) license.

v12.01151